_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Using Pastols
Benno
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 27 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 06, 2002 - 04:20 PM UTC
Hi all

Does anyone know any good web sites on using Pastols, and or any infomation would be great too.

I've never used them before so i dont really have any idea what to do, any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Armorama: 2,804 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 06, 2002 - 05:34 PM UTC
Here's a couple:

Weathering Your Models with Pastels
Models & Modelling
Weathering

Hope these help you get started.
MichalBT
Visit this Community
Województwo Kieleckie, Poland
KitMaker: 326 posts
Armorama: 275 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 06, 2002 - 06:48 PM UTC
Hi,

I've been using pastels for several years. And I'm very happy with results

1/
You have to buy dry pastels (not oil based) in artists store. You should have different shades of yellow, brown, red and grey. I bought my set of 30 colours for about 15USD.
2/
You will work with pastels in powder form. So first you have to scrape them with sharp knife's blade into white cup (why white?- when you decide to mix different colours- you will know what colour you have at the moment)
3/
I apply pastel powder (I don't add thinner to them) with No5 soft- round brush with 0,5cm long bristle.
4/
Your pastel powder will stay only on rough surfaces. So sometimes you will have to apply matt paint first. You shouldn't cover whole model- but concentrate on parts where the pastels will be applied. I use for it not only clear matt- but sometimes also heavy thinned Tamiya's Buff (90/10).
5/
IMPORTANT: If you want to use decals on your model- you have to apply them before your weathering process will be started.
6/