_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Drying Artist Oil Paint
210cav
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 6,149 posts
Armorama: 4,573 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2020 - 09:32 AM UTC
I am new to using artist oil paint. I used some raw sienna on a figure to see the results. Impressive colors, but after two days the paint is still tacky. I would appreciate some advice on how to use this type paint.
Many thanks
DJ
smydi01
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 219 posts
Armorama: 197 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2020 - 10:25 AM UTC
Hi

They do take a while to dry that's true.
The following link may help.

https://www.winsornewton.com/na/discover/tips-and-techniques/oil-colour/understanding-the-drying-times-for-oil-colour-us
dhines
Visit this Community
Nova Scotia, Canada
KitMaker: 407 posts
Armorama: 373 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2020 - 03:40 PM UTC
I use Windsor and Newton oils,start by putting your colors on a piece of cardboard and let it set for at least 45 minutes. This will draw out some of the excess oil and speed up drying time. Some people will let the painted figure sit under a light to help dry. I use a hair dryer sometimes on figures and always on vehicles when weathering them.Best regards..........Dale
PanzerKarl
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,439 posts
Armorama: 1,980 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2020 - 05:51 PM UTC
Use thin layers.
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
Armorama: 2,052 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 05, 2020 - 06:38 PM UTC