_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
lifecolor airbrush
youpey
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 528 posts
Armorama: 468 posts
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2020 - 02:04 AM UTC
i ordered an airbrush and was curious what people thought of lifecolor for airbrushing a tank. im looking to get the US Olive Drab Camouflage Acrylic Set for my sherman tank.

i have used lifecolor to brush paint before, but i never brushpainted a full tank. i typically used spray paint for it.

is the lifecolor good for airbrushing, or would i be better trying to put together a similar set using vallejo air. i read reviews where people said lifecolor was hard to thin correctly, but they were reviews from 10 years ago, and i wasnt sure if things had changed

i have no real experience with an airbrush, i tried a couple of times before and had not much luck and ended up losing the airbrush years ago during a move.

also, do i need to prime with lifecolor or vallejo model air?
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2020 - 02:27 AM UTC
Vallejo is tricky to airbrush also,good to use their thinner and flow improver.I used Lifecolor once or twice with no problems.Yes it is a good idea to prime all acrylics,I like Tamiya Extra Fine in the rattlecan.

One suggestion for your 1st airbrush project try Tamiya paints if you can,very easy learning curve.
jekrott
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 485 posts
Armorama: 353 posts
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2020 - 03:00 AM UTC
Next to Mission model paints,my next choice is life color paints,a little on the thin side but I like that because it won't hide details.I always prime my models 1st and did with life color as well.Hope that helps.
SSGToms
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 3,608 posts
Armorama: 3,092 posts
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2020 - 03:10 AM UTC