_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Compressors?
AutoFix
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 25 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 15, 2002 - 01:00 PM UTC
Hi I'm new. I've been airbrushing for about 3 months now on/off. I'm a college student and I'm about to go back to school and I need a hobby compressor for school. I've been using my dads large aircompressor lately which works fine if I turn down the PSi. I need help in choosing a hobby compressor. I need one thats relatively cheap (lets say $185 or lower) quite and effective! Just wanted to see what some exprierenced modelers had to say!!
My email is [email protected] Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
HunterCottage
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,717 posts
Armorama: 629 posts
Posted: Monday, July 15, 2002 - 01:16 PM UTC
There have been several threads already on compressors here at Armorama.

Do a search for "compressor" and I am sure you will come up with the threads I am talking about.

But in general none of the more common compressors will be quiet, unless you buy one of the silent ones only for airbrushing. It just depends what noise level you can pay to endure...
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Monday, July 15, 2002 - 07:34 PM UTC
Autofix,
Here it is
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?cat=4093&dept=5428&product_id=4021&path=0%3A5428%3A4093%3A3915%3A4338
This is a great compressor (IMHO). I own one and it works wonderfully, the tank allows for quiet operation. That is so nice. It has all the guages to control pressure, it has the adaptors etc.
Nice, Nice, Nice
m1garand
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,248 posts
Posted: Monday, July 15, 2002 - 09:46 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Autofix,
Here it is