login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

User Support
Having a problem with the site? Post it here.
How to get more space?
TankerTweaker
Visit this Community
Missouri, United States
Joined: December 02, 2016
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 12 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 07, 2017 - 01:57 PM GMT+7
How can you increase the space for adding more pictures to gallery?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 9,974 posts
Armorama: 7,958 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 07, 2017 - 06:04 PM GMT+7
Becoming a subscriber on the site is the only way of doing that and it costs about the same as a cup of coffee a month.
TankerTweaker
Visit this Community
Missouri, United States
Joined: December 02, 2016
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 12 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2017 - 07:16 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Becoming a subscriber on the site is the only way of doing that and it costs about the same as a cup of coffee a month.



Thanks for the info Darren
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,846 posts
Armorama: 2,065 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2017 - 07:42 AM GMT+7
Darren has the easiest answer. Lots of gain for little cost.

There is another way to maximize what you have, too. When you load a photo into your computer, there is a great deal of embedded formatting in each image file. I discovered by accident long ago (c.2003) that if you open your image in an image program - even Paint - and then save it, many kilobytes of such formatting is stripped away, making your image file a smaller file in terms of Kbs, while not loosing clarity or definition.

Also, resizing images helps a lot. Until recently all the images I posted were a maximum of 600-800 pixels and that range looks real good. I can't speak for today's screens because my PC is from 2010.

It's a pain to open each image and resize/re-save. But it is effective.
barkingdigger
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
ARMORAMA
#013
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: June 20, 2008
KitMaker: 2,987 posts
Armorama: 2,563 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 03:17 AM GMT+7
Bear in mind the current minimum spec for images used here in Reviews & Features is now 1200x900 pixels.

Also, if you open a compressed file (like a jpeg image) and re-save it, it gets compressed a second time. This reduces file size, but at a cost in terms of image quality. Not sure if this is actually the size-savings Fred discovered...

I reduce all my images to 1200x900 or 1600x1200 in Photoshop Elements, and the files drop from 3mb (raw from camera) to about 200kb. I always keep a copy of the unedited original too, just in case. You can grab a number of free or low-cost programmes for similar reduction (one of my favourites is Irfanview) if you don't already have one.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,846 posts
Armorama: 2,065 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 05:21 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Also, if you open a compressed file (like a jpeg image) and re-save it, it gets compressed a second time. This reduces file size, but at a cost in terms of image quality. Not sure if this is actually the size-savings Fred discovered...



That is. Now that pix size is going to 1200 X xxx, maybe that will reduce image quality. But then unless one's camera is limited to about 4MP, that shouldn't be a problem I expect. The images I posted on KMN through c. 2008 were a max of 2MP and I had no photo processing software other than Paint.
Dragon164
#226
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: February 20, 2012
KitMaker: 1,659 posts
Armorama: 973 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 07:25 AM GMT+7
PhotoRazor is a great free program for resizing images and will do many at once.

Cheers Rob.