login   |    register
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
Tamiya Troubles - Acrylics
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
Joined: January 11, 2002
KitMaker: 169 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 03:40 PM UTC
Greetings, I'm having trouble with a new bottle of Tamiya Acrylics paint. XF-70, 'Dark Green 2', is drying with a semi-gloss sheen (not properly flat). I've shaken it thoroughly and tried thinning with X-20A Tamiya thinner, but no luck.
Did I just get a bad batch?

Anyone else experienced this problem?
Any suggestions (other than throw it out and try another bottle, or try another brand?

Generally I like Tamiya's paints...
Thanks
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
Joined: March 15, 2009
KitMaker: 2,256 posts
Armorama: 1,149 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 04:07 PM UTC
What type of thinner did you use? In some cases that can be the issue. Also, how did you thin the paint? In or out of the bottle?
VR, Russ
marcb
Visit this Community
Overijssel, Netherlands
Joined: March 25, 2006
KitMaker: 826 posts
Armorama: 813 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 11:10 PM UTC
Before shaking, I always stir first to make sure all the "goo" has separated from the jar...

Can you save by applying a flat coat?

Regards,

Marc
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
Joined: June 06, 2006
KitMaker: 4,436 posts
Armorama: 3,337 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 12:00 AM UTC
Are you going to apply gloss to decal followed by a flat to seal them,should fix it.

Also even if your not decaling,you could just overspray some flat on it.
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
Joined: January 11, 2002
KitMaker: 169 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 01:16 AM UTC
Hi guys. I used Tamiya thinner, mixed it in my paint tray. Itís on a figure (90mm Napoleonic).. I wound up overpainting with a slightly different green color from Tamaya and it turned out OK
Still frustrating , though.
d111298pw
#456
Visit this Community
Delhi, India / भारत
Joined: September 22, 2016
KitMaker: 418 posts
Armorama: 402 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 02:37 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Hi guys. I used Tamiya thinner, mixed it in my paint tray. Itís on a figure (90mm Napoleonic).. I wound up overpainting with a slightly different green color from Tamaya and it turned out OK
Still frustrating , though.



Which Tamiya thinner? X20, X20A, Lacquer? I've never had your issue using X20A.
parrot
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: March 01, 2002
KitMaker: 1,588 posts
Armorama: 1,562 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 04:26 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Before shaking, I always stir first to make sure all the "goo" has separated from the jar...

Can you save by applying a flat coat?

Regards,

Marc



A lot of Tamiya paints do need a good stirring first.
Shaking a lot of times just doesn't mix them enough.

Tom
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
Joined: March 15, 2009
KitMaker: 2,256 posts
Armorama: 1,149 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 05:47 AM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

Before shaking, I always stir first to make sure all the "goo" has separated from the jar...

Can you save by applying a flat coat?

Regards,

Marc



A lot of Tamiya paints do need a good stirring first.
Shaking a lot of times just doesn't mix them enough.

Tom



I've noted that too-- and a lot of them come with lids that are not screwed on tightly, allowing them to evaporate over time. I had about 80 bottles I purchased over a three year period from three different shops, and about a third of them all had lids that weren't screwed on tightly. I mentioned this to a friend who owns a LHS, and we went through his Tamiya rack and found about 1/2 the bottles could use an additional tightening of the cap! When the carrier evaporates, this leaves a lot of pigment in the bottom of the jar, which "might" be your problem too. I routinely give every new bottle of Tamiya I buy a gentle "twist" to make sure the cap is tight.
VR, Russ
marcb
Visit this Community
Overijssel, Netherlands
Joined: March 25, 2006
KitMaker: 826 posts
Armorama: 813 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 06:15 AM UTC
One more queston. Did you use a brush or airbrush?

Regards,

Marc
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
Joined: January 11, 2002
KitMaker: 169 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 06:22 AM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

Hi guys. I used Tamiya thinner, mixed it in my paint tray. Itís on a figure (90mm Napoleonic).. I wound up overpainting with a slightly different green color from Tamaya and it turned out OK
Still frustrating , though.



Which Tamiya thinner? X20, X20A, Lacquer? I've never had your issue using X20A.



Thatís what I used
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
Joined: January 11, 2002
KitMaker: 169 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Friday, August 17, 2018 - 06:22 AM UTC

Quoted Text

One more queston. Did you use a brush or airbrush?

Regards,

Marc



Brush, on figures