_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Help !! who makes the best m10 tank destroyer
hazmat
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 10 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 12:50 PM UTC
I am a figure painter but my club has selected an armor tank for a entry by each one of us !! who makes the best m10 kit in 1/35 ??? Detail and fit is important also has anyone built that m10 by Eduard extratech if so any info would be great.

WeWillHold
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 2,314 posts
Armorama: 1,905 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 01:10 PM UTC
First, welcome to Armorama.

I built AFV's M10 and its sweet. No fit issues, nice interior, and made to order for additional sandbags, boxes, crew gear etc on the outside. Also a dry brushing dream with the raised bolts.

Good luck on whatever you decide and keep us posted as you build it.

Steve
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Armorama: 2,804 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 23, 2003 - 02:42 PM UTC
Cool! "A must build tank for entry." I like that idea. We should start that here...

I liked the AFV Club's kit better than Academy's M10. It just seemed to go together better.
Don't misunderstand, the kits from both companies are very nice. Both have their own pros and cons and accuracy shortcomings.

Keep in mind that there are a couple versions from both manufacturers.

Academy has the M10A1 Achilles (British version) - kit # 1392, and the M10 GMC (Gun Motor Carriage) - kit # 1393.

AFV Club offers the M10 Tank Destroyer - kit # 3524, and the M10 Tank Destroyer Late Production - kit # 35s07.

There are also lots of AM items for each kit too. If you go HERE, you can click the various links to see the kits themselves - some have review links - and to see all the extra goodies you can fill the kits up with.