_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: R/C Armor
Discuss all Remote Control Armor related topics here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
First RC Tank - Tamiya Panther G
Toyguy
Visit this Community
Vermont, United States
KitMaker: 13 posts
Armorama: 11 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 04:01 PM UTC
I'm just getting started on my first RC tank, the Tamiya Panther G in 1/16 scale. I thought I'd start up a log just in case anyone else was contemplating this kit and wanted to see how it went together.

I'm not planning a lot of detail work on this since it will be bashing around outdoors come spring, but there will be some add-ons where they make sense.

Starting off, I painted the bare chassis with a gray metal primer after giving it a wash. The rear looks light because I stopped in order to get the next two pieces installed.

In the next two shots, you can see the first add-on - a pair of Impact Upgrades sprocket wheel guides. These add some rigidity to the front of the hull and add some weld bead detail and a nice texture.

Finally, I installed the torsion bar stays before I realized that the vertical tabs need to be cut off for the Impact torsion bar system, so more on that next time!

PantherF
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 6,188 posts
Armorama: 5,960 posts
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2014 - 12:18 PM UTC
RC isn't too popular here, but I am heavily into it and need to finish my Panther!

Keep up with the pictures buddy!

Jeff
warmonger
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
KitMaker: 217 posts
Armorama: 117 posts
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2014 - 12:42 PM UTC
Keep them coming. I've always wanted one of these kits - they just cost so damn much.
davidg
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 47 posts
Armorama: 44 posts
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2014 - 01:53 PM UTC