_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Backdating Tamiya's M1 Super Sherman
gtypecanare
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 14 posts
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 - 07:55 AM UTC
This might be a silly question, but is it possible to backdate the Tamiya M1 Super Sherman, kit number 35322 to a M4A1?

What turret, road wheels, and tracks would I need to accomplish this.

I hope all the Sherman experts can help me out on this, thank you in advance for your comments.

Please be easy, since I mostly build aircraft models and have absolutely no clue about the nuances of the M4 Sherman.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 10,954 posts
Armorama: 8,571 posts
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 - 08:35 AM UTC
George I am no Sherman expert but I believe it will be cheaper and far easier to buy a Sherman of the type you are after.
Pedro
Visit this Community
Wojewodztwo Pomorskie, Poland
KitMaker: 1,208 posts
Armorama: 1,023 posts
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 - 09:03 AM UTC
I belive that for M4A1 you only have to omit the Israeli modified horn cover on the upper front glacis, other than that, the combination of parts in the kit seems to be spot on M4A1 mid/late even if a little bit underdetailed:

http://www.perthmilitarymodelling.com/reviews/vehicles/tamiya/tam35322.html

HTH,
Cheers, Greg
rfbaer
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,866 posts
Armorama: 1,696 posts
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 - 10:17 AM UTC
The Tamiya M1 actually is the M4A1, just a very late production example, but as stated, the siren cover is an Israeli addition and should be left off.
The turret, tracks, road wheels are all fine as is for a late war M4A1/76W
I don't have the kit, but I'm sure others will chime in if there's anything else that needs to be deleted or changed.