_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
AMX-50-120 from scratch? AKA 'Franc'-entank
Dark00Buick
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
Armorama: 5 posts
Posted: Sunday, January 03, 2016 - 10:51 PM UTC
Hey folks, new guy here. I'm a long time modeler (15+ years) but relatively new tanker (2 years) and I have a question I'd like to discuss open endedly with y'all (especially the veterans). Inspired by my recent love affair with World of Tanks, I've begun compiling kits for the 7 nations in the game but I've really fallen for the unique designs of the French Armed Forces after the War. Troublingly though, no one really makes these AFV's due most likely to them not entering service/ being blueprint only etc.

Judging from the armour models in-game, it appears that the AMX-50 tonne models were sitting atop Panther II chassis with 12 interlocking roadwheels to a side, flat sloped front plate, shallow glacis etc with what appears to be the oscillating turret from an AMX-13-75. Question is, if the turret rings are the same diameter, can I just put an AMX-13's turret onto the Panther II body and simply do some moulding and attach a longer barrel or will it look like Dr. Frankenstein's Tank?

Thank you all in advance!
sdk10159
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 556 posts
Armorama: 433 posts
Posted: Sunday, January 03, 2016 - 11:44 PM UTC
John,

If you're going to build this off a WOT tank, then the Panther chassis might work.

All the pics that I've even seen of a AMX-50 the chassis 'resembled' a Panther in that it had interwoven road wheels and sloped armor. The AMX had 10 road wheels and 4 return rollers, so there was no track sag like you'd find on a Panther.
ceerosvk
Visit this Community
Slovakia
KitMaker: 171 posts
Armorama: 170 posts
Posted: Monday, January 04, 2016 - 12:16 AM UTC