_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Free-hand airbrushing question
KruppCake
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 401 posts
Armorama: 387 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 06:07 AM UTC
Hello all,

How much overspray is normal in a good free-hand camo? I am managing to get an average of 1 mm overspray and I've been airbrushing for about 3 months. I am using an Iwata HP-CS and am finding it harder to pull the line closer in. The paint also starts to look a little clumpy in the overspray as if the mist isn't fine enough. (paint is supposedly well-thinned).

How good of a free-hand camo is it possible to achieve?

Thanks!
Armorsmith
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 1,063 posts
Armorama: 1,000 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 06:17 AM UTC
You need to thin the paint more, decrease pressure, and work closer to your surface. Keep experimenting. Good luck
KruppCake
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 06:30 AM UTC

Quoted Text

You need to thin the paint more, decrease pressure, and work closer to your surface. Keep experimenting. Good luck

The Vallejo paint was thinner 3:1 paint to thinner, pressure at 15 psi, and I managed to get it down to ~1 cm away from the model. But if have to move my hand quickly to avoid pooling. There has to be a better way. This was there is very little control over line tightness.
Panzerdan412
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 48 posts
Armorama: 46 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 07:42 AM UTC
Check Your needle tip and inner crown fluid bit. They get damaged Extremely easily and with Zero reason.
Armorsmith
Visit this Community
Posted: Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 09:00 AM UTC