_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Airbrushing complete kits for begininers6
Cowboyronin
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 7 posts
Armorama: 6 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 20, 2016 - 11:29 PM UTC
Hello all, I am looking for advice on airbrush complete sets. I am new to modeling and wanting to start using a airbrush system. I am looking for a beginners set so as I go I can add to the current system. Any advice would be much appreciated..
Unreality
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 172 posts
Armorama: 145 posts
Posted: Monday, March 21, 2016 - 12:01 AM UTC
For what it's worth, I am a big believer in you get what "you pay for" when it comes to airbrushes. The cheaper ones just don't last and may make you hate airbrushing altogether.

I would highly suggest buckling down and getting a Iwata Eclipse or other good airbrush (Grex has a nice line). If you go to Hobby Lobby, you can get an Eclipse with a 40% coupon (plus they carry spare parts). Then get a good compressor. I have an Iwata Power Jet Lite, but you would be happy enough with a Smart Jet. Grex has some nice compressors, but I haven't used them.

If I seem like an Iwata fanboy, I am. They replaced my compressor 8 years ago for free when my switch went bad. All I had to pay was shipping to CA facility.
Cowboyronin
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
Posted: Monday, March 21, 2016 - 04:19 AM UTC
Thank you for your advice.
PRH001
Visit this Community
New Mexico, United States
KitMaker: 681 posts
Armorama: 603 posts
Posted: Monday, March 21, 2016 - 07:07 AM UTC
Jeff,