_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: What If?
For those who like to build hypothetical or alternate history versions of armor/AFVs.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Late Style VK16.02 Leopard or Luchs II?
supaderpa
Visit this Community
Malaysia
KitMaker: 157 posts
Armorama: 140 posts
Posted: Monday, March 28, 2016 - 05:01 PM UTC
Hello everyone, new to the forums here (though I've done my fair share of lurking). Always a pleasure reading the build logs of others and really learned a lot of neat tips and tricks which I've applied to some of my builds.

I've only been at the hobby for just over a year though I suppose because I'm an art student, it wasn't that hard getting the hang of it (yeah tell that to my wallet)

Anyways, enough of all that. For my first build log, I'll be tackling Amusing Hobby's VK 16.02 Leopard.

The Leopard was intended to replace the Pz II. Luchs as a recon tank but the project was ultimately scrapped due to various reasons.

For my build, I'll be going for a what-if Leopard resurrected in late 1945 or 1946. The Amusing Hobby kit is modeled after the Panther D so there will be some work trying to make it look a little more like the G chassis.

The Kit:

supaderpa
Visit this Community
Malaysia
Posted: Monday, March 28, 2016 - 05:26 PM UTC
Starting on the hull first,I noticed the kit had several extra parts especially for the frontal glacis.

The kit instructions has you use the one with the driver's visor and letterbox style mg port but there are also two extra front plate types - one with visor hole and round hole(Panther A?) and the other with just the round hole (Panther G?)

Unfortunately the kit doesn't supply a kugelblende but I managed to find one (from a Dragon KT methinks) from my spares box. Tested it and it fits like without a hitch.

Also got a raised fan deck from a Panther G. That's going on too!

I was also wondering if I should switch out the hull mg for stg44 since I read that they were planning to do that for late war tanks. Thoughts?

Chuck4