_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Raindrops keep falling on my plane.
OlaLundin
Visit this Community
Kalmar, Sweden
KitMaker: 28 posts
Armorama: 28 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 07, 2016 - 08:36 PM UTC
Hello!

I have recently been getting a weird effect on my airbrushing paintjobs. I am a newbie, so new issues pop up all the time. I hope you can give me some advice on this one!

As you can see on the picture, there is a strange raindrop-looking effect. I have had it happening to me several times, and I usually discover it after I have put down the model for a while to clean my airbrush or something.

What could it be? Could it be as simple as water splashing onto the model when I clean the airbrush, or is it something else?

Cheers!

Namabiiru
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
Rhode Island, United States
KitMaker: 2,888 posts
Armorama: 1,920 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 07, 2016 - 08:47 PM UTC
From the photo it doesn't look like something going wrong during your painting--the rest of the paint job looks fine.

I first guess would be exactly as you say: might be splashing something around when cleaning your brush. Try putting your newly painted parts somewhere out of the way and see if it continues to occur. If not, then you've probably got your answer.

Question: Are you painting with acrylics or enamels? And what are you using to clean the brush?

Halbcl2
Visit this Community
Manitoba, Canada
KitMaker: 127 posts
Armorama: 106 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 07, 2016 - 09:55 PM UTC
Could it be moisture build-up in your compressor, then spitting out of the airbrush? Do you have a moisture/water trap in your setup?

I live in a dry area, so I have never seen the effects of water from the compressor, but I wonder if this could be it . . . . ?
mat
Visit this Community
Limburg, Netherlands
KitMaker: 894 posts
Armorama: 643 posts