_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Painting and varnishing armor
ptol67
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 2 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 03:38 PM UTC
Hi guys
I'm new in this (sort of...) so forgive me if this is already posted and answered elsewhere ...
- When I'm painting and weathering armor, should I "seal" the paint with varnish before weathering ? If so, what kind of varnish, matt, satin or gloss...?
And what about after the finished model ?
Tks
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 04:20 PM UTC
Yes you want to seal yor model with a clear.If you plan to weather with enamels or oils,then seal with acrylic.If you weather with acrylics,then seal with enamel or lacquer.

As far as what kind,it depends on your preference.Gloss works for pinwashes,flat for filters and streaking,but there are all kinds of different schools for weathering to investigate.
ptol67
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 2 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 04:23 PM UTC
Tks for the help...
CDK
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 358 posts
Armorama: 339 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 06:05 PM UTC
It's really a personal choice Pedro, I used to apply a clear coat before applying my weathering but I don't anymore and haven't for some time now. I find it to be a completely unnecessary added step.

To be perfectly honest, it's one of those things that gets handed down from modeler to modeler in publications and social media until it becomes just another dogmatic law that must be adhered to. It may have benefits but it also has drawbacks, so the best way to answer your question would be to experiment on some side items and see what works for you.