_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
SSG Tom need help!
210cav
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 6,149 posts
Armorama: 4,573 posts
Posted: Friday, July 29, 2016 - 10:11 PM UTC
SSG Tom-- I have a NEO Iwata air brush. I only use acrylic paint in her. With few exceptions, I paint using the Tamiya XF line. So, here is my difficulty. Using distilled water, I mix my paint. Air pressure is usually 15-20 psi. The paint flows as expected. I am a happy Soldier. When I complete the initial application, I disassemble and clean my brush with air brush cleaner, Q Tips...get her all nice and shiny. Upon re assembly, the air flow works fine, but no paint comes out. If I take the needle out, the air flows along with anything in the chamber makes a total mess of the work area. Now, there is a very small part inside the nose assembly which I also clean and push a small piece of cotton through -- comes out clean. She works fine after this last exercise. But, it is a total pain in the 4th point of contact. What am I doing wrong?
Many thanks
DJ
flippen_waffles
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 143 posts
Armorama: 116 posts
Posted: Friday, July 29, 2016 - 11:39 PM UTC

I think you are referring to part number 3 in the diagram. It can be clogged easily with paint remnants. I usually clean it with an old long bristle paint brush every time after I spray.
210cav
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
Posted: Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 01:25 AM UTC
Yes, I am referring to part 3....so, in between every paint application, you clean it out? In my case, no paint comes out, but take part 3 out and put it back in then the brush works afterwards.....
27-1025
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 1,281 posts
Armorama: 1,222 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 01:42 AM UTC