Hosted by Darren Baker
Paint selections.
Stevenb
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 7 posts
Armorama: 7 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 04:58 AM UTC
Hey guys, I'm going to build a M113 Vietnam area. I need help selecting the proper colors to use. I am going to use Vallejo acrylic model air. I'm new to this and want it to look right. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks, stevenb

Christian1970
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
KitMaker: 25 posts
Armorama: 25 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 06:47 PM UTC
Maybe I can help.
I use this color set from MIG.
http://www.migjimenez.com/en/smart-sets-colors/279-vietnam-colors-smart-acrylic-set.html

And this color set from Vallejo.
http://www.vallejo-farben.de/vallejo-model-air/model-air-sets/model-air-model-air-set-afv-us-vietnam-olive-drab-set-6-MA78412-i.html

Regards Christian
tankmodeler
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 3,123 posts
Armorama: 2,539 posts
Posted: Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 02:06 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Hey guys, I'm going to build a M113 Vietnam area. I need help selecting the proper colors to use. I am going to use Vallejo acrylic model air. I'm new to this and want it to look right. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks, stevenb

Steven,

If you are new to modelling, stick to the basics. Buy the MIG Olive Drab and interior green paints, individually, and some black for the rubber on the track pads and road wheels plus a rusty brown for the metal bits on the tracks. That's it.

Don't weather, don't wash, concentrate on the build. Keep it very, very simple.

Don't get into the "modulation" or graduated colours stuff until you are much, much further along and are quite comfortable with an airbrush.

Focus on clean assembly, no seams or gaps and getting all the road wheels to sit flat on the surface at once.