_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Boxes, cartons and cans, oh my!
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 247 posts
Armorama: 229 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 06:27 AM UTC
Greetings,
I’ve seen many beautiful vehicles and dioramas on this site, other sites and at various live displays and competitions with one (in my humble opinion) annoying flaw.

The issue centers on military logistics.

As an X-Infantry officer, I fully understand the challenges faced by the military supply chain. The supply organization must deal with millions of tons of beans and bullets, all packed in boxes, cartons and (ammo) cans, of various sizes shapes and colors.

Those supply officers who can actually read, tend to rely on the various stenciled markings placed on each box to identify contents and allow an organized inventory and delivery system.

A Google search will show you what I mean, here are a couple of links:

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=980&bih=1184&q=militery+crates&oq=militery+crates&gs_l=img.3...4775.11087.0.12295.17.17.0.0.0.0.150.1691.6j9.15.0....0...1.1.64.img..2.11.1332.0..0j35i39k1j0i10k1j0i10i24k1.hJnPVePI7Wo#hl=en&tbm=isch&q=ammo+can&imgrc=rV32lGFIS1hw2M:&spf=1495412898696

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=980&bih=1184&q=militery+crates&oq=militery+crates&gs_l=img.3...4775.11087.0.12295.17.17.0.0.0.0.150.1691.6j9.15.0....0...1.1.64.img..2.11.1332.0..0j35i39k1j0i10k1j0i10i24k1.hJnPVePI7Wo#imgdii=OdtWuYUqsJhb0M:&imgrc=PXVaBmjSgbCPEM:&spf=1495412974787

And that’s the crux of the issue I all too often have with our models.

A beautifully constructed and painted Sherman or Stug, will have their rear decks loaded down with 300 lbs. of bedrolls, bags and boxes, but with not one bit of stenciling in sight.