_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Ultra Fine Brush Care
cabasner
Visit this Community
Nevada, United States
KitMaker: 1,083 posts
Armorama: 1,014 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 09:33 AM UTC
Hi All,

Several weeks ago, I posted about Adam Wilder videos, and how impressed I had been with them, even though they didn't demonstrate anything new for the vast majority of you. I still found them great!

I'm about to try my hand at doing some of the small detail painting (the 'fake' shadowing, and multi-color oil dots), something I have never tried before. I bought some Winsor & Newton brush cleaner, and a number of excellent quality ultra fine brushes, l(000 sable brushes) and similar. I am, honestly, quite terrified of using these new brushes, as they were outrageously expensive, but I know that these brushes are necessary to do the kind of work that I want to do.

I wanted to ask you experienced folks if there are any special methods you would use to clean/maintain these ultra fine brushes, besides using the cleaner/restorer. I plan to use the brushes for oils, enamels and acrylics, so, are there differences in how you clean and care for these delicate brushes when painting using these different types of paints? I am most interested in any specific methods you use on these ultra small brushes. Given that I've paid close to $20 for some of these brushes, I want to keep them as perfect as possible for a long, long time. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!!
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 3,353 posts
Armorama: 3,121 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 11:21 AM UTC
I'm no expert on the matter, but what I do:

Try and keep the brushes for a specific medium, i.e. if you used one for acrylics, only use acrylics with it. Acrylics are tougher on brushes and I usually only use a synthetic brush as you get the same result at less cost overall.