_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Modern - USA
Modern Armor, AFVs, and Support vehicles.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Abrams - TF 4-64 Armor
B2Blain
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 86 posts
Armorama: 86 posts
Posted: Monday, January 28, 2019 - 05:27 PM UTC
I've been working on an OIF I M1A1 Abrams, on and off, for more than a few years. It's the Dragon kit. It took a while for me to settle on the markings. A lot of the builds have focused on TF 1-64 Armor because of the two Thunder Runs. I was initially going with one of the tanks from A Company, 1-64 Armor. After doing a bit research - rereading Zucchino's Thunder Run, Conroy's Heavy Metal, and Lacey's Take Down I became fascinated with TF 4-64's fight stop the Iraqi counterattacks across the Tigris. The battle featured both tanks, Bradleys, and dismounted infantry.

I am depicting a plow tank from Jason Redmon's 2nd Platoon. I used model masters enamel - FS33531 over a preshade of black/tan. I haven't started weathering because I am not sure I like the base color. It seems a bit too brown compared to photos I have seen of OIF tanks. I am wondering whether I should apply an ochre filter or adjust the tint with oils. Any opinions?

This is my first attempt to include a pic in a post. Hope it works.

M4A1Sherman
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 4,403 posts
Armorama: 4,078 posts
Posted: Monday, January 28, 2019 - 08:17 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I've been working on an OIF I M1A1 Abrams, on and off, for more than a few years. It's the Dragon kit. It took a while for me to settle on the markings. A lot of the builds have focused on TF 1-64 Armor because of the two Thunder Runs. I was initially going with one of the tanks from A Company, 1-64 Armor. After doing a bit research - rereading Zucchino's Thunder Run, Conroy's Heavy Metal, and Lacey's Take Down I became fascinated with TF 4-64's fight stop the Iraqi counterattacks across the Tigris. The battle featured both tanks, Bradleys, and dismounted infantry.