_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum
Russian or Soviet vehicles/armor modeling forum.
Tiger Model Pantsir - should I get it?
RicardoH
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 54 posts
Armorama: 54 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 08:13 PM UTC
Hi guys,

my local hobby store has the Tiger Model Pantsir S1 in stock at a discounted price for a limited time. AFAIK, this is the first Pantsir to be available in stores, while Meng, Trumpeter and Zvezda should be releasing theirs soon.

I've seen a review of the Tiger Model kit and it looks good on the sprues, but I know very little about the real vehicle and cannot tell how accurate it is. Also, I've never built a Tiger Model kit before, so I have no idea about parts fit, plastic quality, etc. From what I've seen on the Internet, TM plastic looks a bit like Meng's, but I could be wrong.

For those of you that had the chance to view the kit and compare it to the photos that have been published by the other manufacturers (the Meng kit looks very good, it seems it can be built with either radar dishes, but it should also be more expensive), and from what you know about Tiger Model, should I go ahead and get it (at discount price) or wait for other manufacturers to release theirs, don't get the discount on the Tiger Model kit but at least have the chance to pick the one I find more accurate?

RobinNilsson
Staff MemberTOS Moderator
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 6,693 posts
Armorama: 5,562 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 09:07 PM UTC
Not a direct answer to your question but ...
I the other kits are not out yet there is most likely no comparison reviews yet either.
The Pantsir from Tiger Model could have inaccuracies that someone who is knowledgeable might point out. The other kits, which whe have not seen yet, could also have issues. These issues could be smaller than Tiger Models or they could be worse. We don't know ....

Your options: