_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
T34/85 in Korea
spartan01
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 314 posts
Armorama: 244 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 12:47 AM UTC
I am not an expert on this subject but I have a dragon T34/85 for the Arab war series but I want to convert it to a Korean war tank is there anything special I need to do? Please let me know
nsjohn
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 279 posts
Armorama: 265 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 12:53 AM UTC
What is it with all the T34 builds going on just now, not that I am complaining as it is one of my favourite tanks
pod3105
Visit this Community
Waterford, Ireland
KitMaker: 466 posts
Armorama: 444 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 02:05 AM UTC
Just avoid using the unusual Syrian AA mount and I think it should be good to go.
GeraldOwens
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 3,736 posts
Armorama: 3,697 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 11, 2019 - 03:28 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I am not an expert on this subject but I have a dragon T34/85 for the Arab war series but I want to convert it to a Korean war tank is there anything special I need to do? Please let me know

Dragon's kit is configured as a Factory 183 tank built in late 1944 or 1945. These were common in Korea, but they ordinarily used the perforated, 'spider web' pattern, cast wheels. The Six Day War kit has the solid stamped wheels, usually seen on Factory 174 or 112 tanks. A few tanks with the 183 turret and the stamped wheels appear in Berlin in 1945, but it's not clear if these were original Factory 183 tanks, or field repairs, where a salvaged turret was swapped onto a different hull.

For the 1960's it's okay, since the tanks had been rebuilt at least once, and could have received any pattern of wheel. And the cupola MG mount is a 1960's addition.