_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
sd kfz 222 1/35 Tamiya kit accuracy?
AlexanderTheGrape
Visit this Community
New South Wales, Australia
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 02:24 PM UTC
Hi fellow modellers,
I just picked up this kit from 2007, the tamiya 1/35 sd kfz 222
(this kit). I'm new to armor modelling but after a bit of searching online i found this kit's turret have some significant differences.

For example:
- the kit has two seats that are exactly the same, while source i found had a circular one on the left side with a back pad mounted on the turret.
- the kit doesn't have the Y shaped beam behind the gun mount, connecting to the turret shield on the back.
- the kit have two "turret steering wheel", i assume one for each axis, while the source had just one larger wheel that's facing the operator.
- finally the kit's have the "slit" headlight, while the source had a regular headlight.

Since the gun will be very visible on the top, i'm really wondering if the kit and the img i found are two different variations of the vehicle. Or is Tamiya's details are wrong due to old kit.
I hope if anyone knows this vehicle well can let me know.

thanks!

(the kit's gun)

(source showing the Y beam & the turret steering wheel)

(source showing the different left seat)
marcb
Visit this Community
Overijssel, Netherlands
KitMaker: 1,244 posts
Armorama: 1,226 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 11:06 PM UTC
Apparently the Tamiya kit is very good as it features a correct version of the Sdkfz 222. Some more modern kits offer a mix of diiferent production versions. I don't know anything about the internal differences between production versions. You could try Panzertracts 13-1 Leichter Panzerspahwagen, or posting on the Missing Links Axis forum.

http://www.missing-lynx.com/

GaryKato
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 3,694 posts
Armorama: 2,693 posts