_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Modern - USA
Modern Armor, AFVs, and Support vehicles.
Hosted by Darren Baker
AFV Club M113A1 conversion to 80s M113
RicardoH
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 54 posts
Armorama: 54 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 03, 2019 - 10:41 PM UTC
Hi guys,

I was wondering if the AFV Club M113A1 has the parts needed to build an M113A1 in the early 80s.

I'm pretty sure I'll just need to omit the shields and a few other parts, but I'm not an expert and I'd like to know before buying the kit.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Monday, November 04, 2019 - 01:12 AM UTC
Yes, by removing the added armor and extra weapons, you will have a standard M113A1.

However, by the early '80s, most M113A1s had been upgraded to M113A2s. These upgrades include a shock absorber on the 2nd roadwheel on each side, the rear idler wheel raised about 3 inches, a redesigned engine deck with different vents, an exhaust with a flapper and square guard around it, armored radiator cap cover, a second exhaust stack for the crew heater, and smoke launchers added on the front glacis. The rest of the upgrades were to the engine, transmission, and inside.

You can see most of the updates on the engine compartment deck here.

Smoke launchers

Academy does a pretty good A2 version if you want to go that route.

RicardoH
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
Posted: Monday, November 04, 2019 - 03:04 AM UTC
Thanks for the reply.

I'm planning on building a Portuguese Army M113 and in the early to mid 80s they used a regular M113A1. I believe the first A2 models arrived in the 90s, but don't quote me on that.
m75
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 666 posts
Armorama: 661 posts
Posted: Monday, November 04, 2019 - 03:07 AM UTC
Gino, are those shots from the FLW outdoor display?
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts