_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
DML Panzer III Ausf. J Kit 6954
KKarns
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 83 posts
Armorama: 83 posts
Posted: Friday, April 24, 2020 - 12:16 AM UTC
Hi Folks, I'm new to the field of military armor modeling despite years of fine scale structure modeling experience. As a result of my research, I decided to search out DML Kit #6394 on the secondary market to be my first build. In my enthusiasm to get started I inadvertently pulled the trigger on DML Kit #6954. I haven't been able to find any information (side from basic stuff) or reviews of this kit. Would appreciate any comments or advise from the wise and knowledgable folks here!...Thanks.
RobinNilsson
Staff MemberTOS Moderator
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 6,693 posts
Armorama: 5,562 posts
Posted: Friday, April 24, 2020 - 12:28 AM UTC
Scalemates is a useful resource where the ancestry/lineage of kits can be traced.
https://www.scalemates.com/kits/dragon-6394-pzkpfw-iii-ausf-j--108504
6954 is a descendant of 6394 so 6954 is on the far right in the "family tree"
Dragon has the habit of adding parts to older kits and combine sprues from different kits to make something new.

I think it would be safe to assume that the newer kit is at least as good as the 13 years older kit
KKarns
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Friday, April 24, 2020 - 01:55 AM UTC
Hey Thanks much Robin. Appreciate the prompt response and your thoughts here. I did go to Scalemates as a matter of course but was hoping for more of a personal opinion on the kit or a review of the same. Your response is the type I was looking for and serves as a bit of morale support going into this build. Thanks again.
panzerbob01
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 3,128 posts
Armorama: 2,959 posts
Posted: Friday, April 24, 2020 - 01:58 AM UTC