_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Vallejo Air & Oil Washes?
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
Armorama: 2,052 posts
Posted: Thursday, May 07, 2020 - 02:55 PM UTC
Well, I finally took the plunge. I normally work in Tamiya acrylic lacquers, Mr. Hobby lacquers and Testors MM Enamels, and have years of experience with other paints like Pactra, Floquil, Humbrol and Alclads line. But I’ve had a set of Vallejo Air Colors for WWII US Olive Drab hanging around for about five years now, and decided to use it on some 1/72 scale US WWII armor kits. I am impressed by these paints, and the way they went on. I followed the instructions Vallejo posts on line, and because I’ve had some experience with a few other acrylics in a different genre, I had no trouble with them in the AB. But I have a question for those who know a little more about them— how do they do with oil or enamel washes? Any pointers to pass along? Do I need a topcoat?
VR, Russ
Scarred
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 1,792 posts
Armorama: 1,186 posts
Posted: Thursday, May 07, 2020 - 03:32 PM UTC
Because there are so many different formulations of paints, including enamels, lacquers and acrylics, and their thinners that the best recommendation I can make to you is testing on leftover parts. I haven't had issues with Vallejo but I shoot (usually) a layer of glosscote or dullcote to seal my base colors before weathering. I let the paint cure for at least 24 hours too.

So grab any leftover parts you have laying around, shoot your base color on them and and then practice. I found the learning curve going from enamels and lacquers to acrylics was a bit steep having to un-learn a lot of what I'd been doing for 40 years.

I do miss Pactra paints. So simple and reliable.

Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Posted: Thursday, May 07, 2020 - 05:12 PM UTC