_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Question about Panzerbefehlswagen 38t Hetzer
Phillipjl
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 18 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 02, 2020 - 03:19 PM UTC
Hello all, its been a while since I have posted here, I haven’t built a serious model in almost a year! I currently have an Eduard Hetzer Mid Production on the bench, and I just recently realized the radio setup included with the model is for a Befehls Panzer. This leaves with a few options:
1. Omit said radios, and replace with some boxes, as I have seen in reference photos
2. Keep said radios, and install a set of befehls antennae (antennas?)
I lean towards option 2 for several reasons, but. I am no Hetzer expert, (yet) so I do not know the correct arrangement of antennae, I believe standard antenna on right rear flank, plus a star antenna oposite on the left. I also do not know how the star antenna was mounted, as I would need to scratch build the mounting. Another question mark is wheather there are other features on the Befehls version that would also need attention. The last (for now) question would be of time period, would a Mid vehicle indeed be correct for this setup?
Thanks for the feedback, This site, and its members have always been fantastic, keep up the good work!
varanusk
Staff MemberManaging Editor
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain / España
KitMaker: 1,288 posts
Armorama: 942 posts
Posted: Monday, August 03, 2020 - 10:37 AM UTC
Dragon kit 6060 is a Command Hetzer, instructions are available online and on a quick (and inexpert) look, seems the star antenna was the only difference -providing you trust Dragon. Yo can see the mount as well.

It says that Thomas Anderson was involved, which is a good reference for me.

This is the only photo I have been able to find:

Phillipjl
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Monday, August 03, 2020 - 12:53 PM UTC