_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Chalk & Cheese
arawata
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 19 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2002 - 04:06 AM UTC
I'm still new to armour modelling and have mostly been building pre-WWII tanks. I like the odd designs of the early stuff. Recently I have tried a couple of modern armour kits and now I like the way the combinations look on my display shelves - an FT-17 beside an M1A1, an A7V beside a Leo 2A5, a Mark IV Male beside a Challenger, a SOMUA beside a Le Clerc. I haven't done all these combinations yet but I look forward to the day I have my own little tank museum in miniature

Andrew
Kencelot
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Armorama: 2,804 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2002 - 04:11 AM UTC
Now you just need to build some from the middle ground. M4 Sherman, T34, Panzer,...lol

But I can't help but ask "chalk & cheese" ??? :-)
pipesmoker
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 649 posts
Armorama: 379 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2002 - 04:16 AM UTC
Welcome to the wonderfull world of armor modeling.
There is a great bunch of guys here with all sorts of information rattling around in their brains. If you need any info I am sure someone here will have the answer or know where to look. Remember, modeling is FUN!

arawata
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 19 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 27, 2002 - 04:56 AM UTC
"Chalk & Cheese" is an expression indicating things that are completely different. As in "an FT-17 is as like an M1A1 as chalk is like cheese".
I still consider myself an "assembler" more than a modeller, but as my skills improve (hey, I'm already collecting a stash of unbuilt kits - isn't shopping the first skill of a true modeller!) I hope to scratchbuild a few projects I have in mind, such as the odd-ball "Schofield Tank" (from my homeland of New Zealand).
Kencelot